First Post! Going Green Tag :)

I thought I will be a good idea to start whit this. The tag was created by Rachel, the first natural blogger I followed ๐Ÿ˜‰

going green tag

1. What started it all off for you?

For me it was a very gradual process, and still is. Since childhood I was in love with nature and countryside and I loved plants and learning about them. So when I started to explore the beauty products world, I liked and preferred those with some natural ingredients. And we had many of these in Poland always, although not necessarily without the nasties. I did the bulk of my research about a year and a half ago. And I continue my quest at present ๐Ÿ™‚

2. What was the first thing to go? (Ingredient or product)

Definitely mineral oil. I wouldn’t call it toxic, but it’s just not the best thing out there to moisturise. And I have an acne prone skin, so I don’t want it to get clogged. Plant oils are so much better. But paraffin is dirt cheap, that’s why it’s being used.

3. What are you/did you struggle to let go of?

Mainstream make-up I suppose. I still haven’t ;). It’s all a gradual process.

And there are some skincare ingredients and products that I wouldn’t say I struggle with, I just know I won’t let go of them, because I don’t want to, i.e. retinol ๐Ÿ™‚

4. What has been your best find or change? (i.e a green product or a tip that youโ€™re really glad youโ€™ve found/learnt)

Change in my haircare for sure. Sulphates and silicones from my haircare products were the next thing to go after mineral oil and I never looked back.

As for product, I had many great finds in recent months, but certainly the distinction has to do to MOA Green Balm. It’s a wonderful multi-purpose product, that I mainly use on my perioral dermatitis and it works it’s magic there.

5. What has been the worst thing about going green?

Hmm.. I might sound a bit controversial here, but on one hand the ”greenwashing” brands, and on the other the misinformation being spread by some websites and blogs, and scaremongering.

6. Anything else to add? Any tips or tricks to pass on?

Yeah, regarding my previous answer, I think it’s best to do a lot of research, read from many sources and not just follow one website’s judgement. Best is to learn to read the ingredients on the labels always and just make ones own mind about what to avoid and what to look out for.

And (for the beginners) don’t be afraid of the oils – for face, body and hair – they are great!

I hope after reading this you will be curious to come back for more. I have plenty of reviews to write about my fantastic finds from recent months. I will also write about places and events I went to. The LNLO and Naturalย & Organic Products Europe (both in London) will be featured in my next post ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “First Post! Going Green Tag :)

  1. Aww I was the first you followed?! Awesome!
    I love your answers, so good to find out more about you and the process you’ve been/are going through.I agree with what you said… its a gradual thing. And I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

